END OF SEASON and SPRING CAMP

10 10 2010

All the resorts around Wanaka have closed down for the season. The last week was hectic with the New Zealand Junior Nationals Grom Fest held up at Cardrona. With over 300 kids competing it was quite a sight.

For those who don’t already know, during the NZ winter season I spent 3 days a week coaching a freestyle program up at Cardrona called HPC. This season I had 10 boys! Coaching included skiing pipe, slopestyle, Big Mountain, dry land training and trampolining.

The first day of the Junior Nats I woke up feeling sick in the gut. I couldn’t believe how nervous I was for these guys. The competition was tight but they all pulled through getting some great results. I’m so proud of my boys!

I thought my season was over until I got the phone call from my trainer JT on Sunday night (the last day of the season) saying I had spring camp starting tomorrow! Spring camp…Yes!!! So all week I’ve been training halfpipe and don’t forget the massive airbag and it’s been awesome. I’ve got another week and we’ve just got another 40cm up at Cardrona this weekend.

To make my weekend more eventful we attended the Southern Lakes Heli office warming party on Friday night– thanks Julien and Dale… Had a wicked night. Also on Saturday night I attended the Base season ending party with my boyfriend Chris who works there.

I just wanted to say a big thank you to all the boys who I coached this season. You made me proud and you’re all very talented. I can’t wait to ski with you next season…By the way thank you for the gift…hmm skydiving…

BBQ season is in force but winter is back again but we don’t know for how long…what the hell is going on? Forecast for next week is bluebird so bring on spring camp!!!

Keep posted. TNF spring trip coming up…

Cardrona's spring camp pipe

 

 

 

Spring camp airbag

 

No lifts just sleds

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

