1st Kirkwood Freeskiing World Tour

9 03 2010

Finally I’ve held together two solid runs in a comp to put me in 1st on the podium. I came into the event qualifying in 6th on the first day and then made the second day finals. My run on the second day finals bumped me into 2nd position and into the super finals for one last chance.

The weather started to come in as I was waiting up the top for my super finals run. I had thought about changing my line due to flat light, but as I stood in the starting gate the light cleared up so I stuck to my original plan to still do the same line into ‘Hidden Chute’.

I was also rewarded with the contests Backcountry.com sickbird award which honors the skier who most represents the sport’s heart and soul while ‘going big’. It still hasn’t sunken in that I’ve won this award. It means so much since I know that only two other females have received this trophy, one being my good friend Jackie Paaso.

Shortly after the conclusion of the Women’s Super Final round, bad weather developed, limiting visibility in and around the competition venue. As the daylight waned and the bad weather remained, event officials called the contest at 3:00 p.m., canceling the Men’s Super Final round and relying on results from finals earlier in the day to determine final rankings for the men.

Fernie Freeride team cleaned up with Aaron Schmit leading the men into the second day finals and finished up 2nd overall and Caleb brown taking home the young gun award and fishing up 5th overall.  The Freeskiing World Tour presents the North Face Young Gun Award to a young competitor who shows promise ad  performs well. Luke nelson had an unfortunate fall on his second huge air on the coming into the first day finals.

The New Zealand riders did well with Cam McDermit shredding it in the qualifiers making the fist day finals and unfortunately not making the second day finals. CJ Wright showed everyone he could slay both days ending up in 15th position.

Now I’m back in Austria recovering from the after party. Next stop Nendaz freeride. Bring on Verbier!

Angel Collinson, Me, Crystal Rose- Lee

Hidden Chute

Sick Bird!!!!!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2010
Mike

Fantastic effort to claim the ‘Sick Bird’ Award!!

14 03 2010
Caleb

whoo!

Leave a Reply

