En route Canada

2 12 2009

At the start of every Northern Hemisphere season I leave spring/summer time in New Zealand to board a plane to Canada to begin my season in Fernie British Columbia. Some may ask ‘why Fernie Janina?’. Well, for those who don’t know, Fernie has long been part of my origins for freeskiing. You might say it’s the place where I was made a freeskier.

To get to Fernie I will be flying into Calgary from Vancouver where some mates will come pick me up at the airport. Then it’s a 3-hour drive to Fernie. Every year driving back into town is the same old thing. Old memories flood my mind and my stomach fills with excitement as I think about the new season that lays ahead, the new lines that will be skied, charging extreme lines harder than before, the early morning line ups at the lift for fresh tracks and just being able to shred with Fernies hardcore freeskiers who have shaped the skier I am today. This is what brings me back every year and this is why it is the best place to start my training for the up coming comp season.

The first comp of the season will start off with the Canadian Free Ski Championships which will be held in Revelstoke, BC . It’s only 5 weeks away!

Then beginning of February I will fly to Europe to shoot, film and compete on the Freeride world qualifying tour, trying to gain a spot on the Nissan Freeride World Tour. This tour offers the biggest prize purse in freeskiing.

So what’s installed for me in Fernie… well powder, fun, friends, red necks and more powder. Like I said it’s definitely the best place for me to start my competitive season because, Fernie, By far offers the sickest terrain for a freeskier and the best part about it I know it like the back of my hand.

Skiing the hill on Saturday!

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 12 2009
Adam Dooney

Great post Janina. Good luck this season, everyone at SSNZ is looking forward to the updates on your season.

Cheers
Adam

3 12 2009
Bruce Edgerly

Cool, Janina. Have a great trip. When you get to the Revelstoke comp, make sure you look up my niece, Jacqui Edgerly. This will be her third year on the Freeskiing World Tour. Good luck and g’day!

Bruce E.
http://www.backcountryaccess.com/blog

4 12 2009
Karin Trolin

nice explanation there Janina!
The heat is rising when I read about your feelings for fernie, mine are pretty much the same! 🙂 Hope there’ll be a great season.. not too great though… then me and Rebecca here in Åre will get the shivers and come over anyways.. ( I can’t get hold of a Visa for this year, so the patrol-duties will be in Åre this season) Will miss u and the mountains like crazy!! tomorrow is the day! Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

