Getting it done and dusted

3 11 2009

I’ve finally got everything organised and pulled together a blog/webpage of myself. It’s definitely a great way for everyone to know where I am around the world and to keep you guys up to date with all my crazy adventures!

2009 has been a really busy year for me. I started off in Canada with a busy training ski schedule and the Canadian Freeski Champs which was held in Rosland BC, followed by the World Qualifying Tour (FWQT) in Europe, Shooting for Mags then back to NZ for their season which has just finished.

I had a super busy season in New Zealand on the freeride comp scene, while also putting in little bit of pipe riding. I took out the Volkl Open in both Big Mountain AND pipe which was pretty cool, and also gained a spot on the World Heli Challenge and won, so all in all it’s been a full on epic year.

The highlight of my season was definitely getting signed on with Volkl International.  

So, now I’ve got a little free time on my hands before heading to Canada (December 2nd) then to euro where I will test my skill on the Freeride World Tour/Qualifying events. I’m doing the tour with my sis Maria, who I am betting will walk away at the end of the season as the women’s snowboard Freeride world champ…

Check out the photos below. Just some of the good times I’ve had in NZ this season…

Volkl.skis
My favourite Volkl skis – The Chopsticks 185, The Wall 163, The Gotamas 186
Face1

2009 World Heli Challenge Mt Albert. The sickest venue I've ever skied in a comp!

Face2

2009 World Heli Challenge Mt. Albert... same face just lookers left... I want to ski faces like this all the time!

Skichickas

2009 World Heli Challenge Freeride day - the womens field - Ingrid Backstrom, Jackie Pasco and me

thewomensfield

2009 World Heli Challenge women competitors

boating

2009 World Heli Challenge VnC downhill jet boat ride

winners

what a glorious sight...The winners of the 2009 World Heli Challenge!

Mt. Cook

This photo is of Mt. Cook, New Zealands Highest Mountain. It stands at 3,754 metres (12,316 ft). Aoraki/Mt Cook consists of three summits lying slightly south and east of the main divide, the Low Peak, Middle Peak and High Peak, with the Tasman Glacier to the east and the Hooker Glacier to the west. We are off on a story for NZ Skier Mag.

Tasman

Loading chopper for Tasman Glacier. It’s the largest of several glaciers which flow south and east towards the Mackenzie Basin from the Southern Alps in New Zealand's South Island. It is 29 kilometres long and as much as 4 kilometres wide, and is entirely within the borders of Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. The depth at its most is 600 meters.

Kelman Hut

This is the Kelman Hut. It's situated near the top of the Tasman Glacier. Brr is was a cold nights sleep.

Geoff

This is a photos of Geoff Small (Smally). He guided us on our trip. He is one of NZ best free skiers coming 1st in the NZ freeski open and 2nd in the 2009 World Heli Challenge. Smally had me roped up in this photo just in case we didn't fall down a crevasse. The ice sculptures were truly amazing.

Actions

Information

One response

4 11 2009
Jenn

You are amazing! Congrats on a great year!

Leave a Reply

